Quality Management



Contact Us

The Joint Commission

The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits nearly 15,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including the University of Toledo Medical Center.  An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s predominant standards-setting and accrediting body in health care.  Since 1951, The Joint Commission has maintained state-of-the-art standards that focus on improving the quality and safety of care provided by health care organizations.  Its accreditation is a nationwide seal of approval that indicates a hospital meets high performance standards.  To earn and maintain The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™, an organization must undergo an on-site survey by a Joint Commission survey team at least every three years.

The University of Toledo's Joint Commission Council oversees Joint Commission continuous survey readiness.


  • CDC - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • CMS - Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • NCDR - American College of Cardiology National Cardiovascular Data Registry
  • NDNQI - National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators
  • NSQIP - American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program
  • OHA - Ohio Hospital Association
  • STS - Society of Thoracic Surgeons National Database
  • UHC - University HealthSystem Consortium
Last Updated: 2/7/13